FOR HELP CALL 877-271-9355

LS50W Powered Music System

Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
34 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$2,199.99

Spring Ideas for outdoor audio and speakers from KEF

 

KEF February Specials!  KEF Direct

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 34 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Best sound stage yet Review by Poki
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The LS50's deserve their many excellent reviews. I can say that I agree with every credit and plaudit
they have earned. I am very pleased with the digital to analog conversion results on my first week's
music streaming. I had been researching high end DAC equipment, but have put that acquisition on hold
pending auditing all available high end streaming sources. In my current setup, with the speakers 9 ft.
apart, when I walk toward and between them I can't tell very well where the sound is coming from; the
speakers have seemingly disappeared. This is the sound stage I have been looking for. Good work KEF! (Posted on 1/19/2018)
Awesome Review by Peter
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Fantastic quality of sound and construction. A great pleasure to listen, and a great pleasure to deal with the people at KEF. Overall a five star rating. Thank you, KEF (Posted on 1/11/2018)
Great sound and build quality! Review by RockyR
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The ls50 speakers sounded great and was very pleased with them, however i wanted to try the powered ls50w speakers due to the reviews. I was not disappointed. There was a noticeable improvement in sound quality. I had a high end audio amp and pre-amp but the integrated ls50w system was a noticeable improvement. I would highly recommend them! (Posted on 1/3/2018)
Great little speaker Review by alepar
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Just to reiterate - exceptional SQ, lousy app.

Also I didn't realize streaming over wifi is only supported from ios/android, and there's no desktop driver for either macos or windows available. Not-so-wireless indeed.

Also, I've hooked up rythmik sub to these, and after a little playing with the settings, was able to achieve decent integration, even though 'advanced' mode settings were far from my ideal (probably aimed at HT applications?).

Would've been all-5-star if not for the app... (Posted on 1/3/2018)
Awesome sounding, flexible speakers. Review by Davezp25
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Wish I would have purchased these sooner. They have great flexibility and fantastic sound. Punchy bass, smooth midrange, detailed, but smooth highs. Great speaker to use with Roon. Wish list for version Il, full Roon Ready support, mqa and dsd. Would be nice to be able to switch network ssid’s Without a reset and have the ability to swap left and right speakers in app. (Posted on 12/24/2017)
Big things come in small packages Review by AK
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The LS50W replaced a traditional speaker/receiver system and there was no loss of sound. In fact, these KEFs sound better and take up a fraction o f the space. They are elegant to look at and produce great sound, even at low volume. I received my order the next day with free shipping! Helpful customer support (you may need to update the firmware). Expensive and a good value. (Posted on 12/22/2017)
Terrific speaker with more with versatility than anything I have ever experienced in this domain Review by JMK
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
I struggled a bit choosing these speakers because I have the wireless Dynaudio Tower speakers in my living room and they are terrific. I thought of networking them with Dynaudio bookshelf model in my upstairs office since I was very satisfied with their performance. However the KEF LS50W adds so much more value in that the connectivity, the onboard USB DAC, bluetooth and its subwoofer out made the decision easier to choose the KEF. Musically I think they are better by a bit in that they seem to have better higher end detail, a bit more spaciousness in the sound stage and are more forgiving of source material than the Dynaudio.

I highly recommend this speaker system as both a great value and a great performer! (Posted on 12/15/2017)
Superb Sound in a small package! Review by Tom
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
I cannot believe the full, clear sound these produce! I have my Marantz CD player hooked up to the analog inputs on the KEF right speaker, and also listen to Tidal through the wifi application. My speakers are set up on heavy sound anchor 24" stands that improve the sound over flimsier stands. The wireless app could be improved (it sometimes does not allow seamless playback on Tidal) and it would be nice to see the display (which is on top of the right speaker) while sitting down, but the incredible sound more than makes up for these shortcomings. Usually small speakers sound anemic and not "fleshed out". These have the ability to produce tones accurately, with good dynamics and clarity, and bass response into the 40hz range. A winner! (Posted on 12/15/2017)
Impressive and Versatile Review by Jon M
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Sound is pretty astonishing coming out of these small, seemingly simple speakers. Of course, they're actually not simple at all under the hood, and they offer a plethora of connectivity options and modern streaming support.

Between WAF-approved looks, great sound, and versatility, KEFs LS50W's really set the bar for "what's to come".

The software and interfaces can use a good deal of work however.... (Posted on 11/14/2017)
Stunning Review by Peter Hyatt
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Beautiful reproduction of digital music. Warm, clearly defined, with gorgeous soundstage, this is an all-in-one system that takes the guess or "synergy" work out of having to match DACS with amps with speakers.
To match this quality of sound, one would have to spend a great deal more money.
If you love audiophile sound quality and have hi res files, this will fit the bill.
As others have said, the app is not great, but I imagine it will be improved. It is, for us, a non issue due to the comparison to sound quality.
We use Chord Mojo and Hugo 2, with Beyerdynamic T1 and T8 headphones, so this is our reference point of comparison. It is difficult to get the beauty of Chord/Beyer combination in open air music.
The KEF LS50 with an expensive DAC/amp added will do it, but now the LS50 wireless does it without the expensive components.
Classical music to Dylan to Springsteen to...well, it does it all. We don't know if adding a subwoofer is even needed!
(Posted on 11/5/2017)

Reviews

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: LS50W Powered Music System

How do you rate this product? *

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive news, updates, free stuff and new releases by email.