FOR HELP CALL 877-271-9355

LS50W Powered Music System

Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
36 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$2,199.99

Spring Ideas for outdoor audio and speakers from KEF

 

KEF May Specials!  KEF Direct

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Terrific sonic qualites...... Review by Paul
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
..... easy on the ear and eyes as well. Crisp, tight, well balanced audio, with high that sparkle and bass beyond what I expected from a speaker of this size. Listening is a delight!

I chose the wireless version because of the simplicity and convenience of an integrated system. For listener convenience it missed the mark by a mile. App needs work, remote is not illuminated, status(power, modes) are only visible by looking down upon the speaker... not even a power on front light! I expect more from great company like KEF (Posted on 3/19/2018)
The future of Hi-Fi Review by Jeffrey
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
I have owned the passive model before and am quite familiar with the character and tone of this speaker. When the active (wireless) version was being announced, I knew eventually I had to purchase a pair. That happened a month ago. I have been very pleased! There is a noticeable improvement over the passive versions. They have better drive and convey emotional texture better, with a punchier sound and more extended bass.

Not only do they sound better (which is a huge achievement as the passive LS50 is an excellent product), but they allow for deep versatility that is not possible with a typical loudspeaker. I will echo the sentiments of the other people about the app - using streaming with the app is clunky, disorganized and frustrating. Thankfully Spotify does not use the KEF app, but I do not recommend using the KEF app to browse your music library. Instead, my suggestion is to use Roon. This takes the LS50 to an entirely new level, improving usability and functionality to an extent I did not think possible. For years, I have wanted to find a solution where I could remove all of the components in my listening space, and only have the speakers. With the LS50 Wireless speakers and Roon, this is a possibility. I have a computer in another room acting as the "Core", and the LS50s natively tap into that core and you can use the Roon app on your phone or tablet to browse your music library. In addition to that, Roon brings about a couple of other important features - a sliding volume control for the LS50s, a gripe I have with the KEF app, and also the ability to run an intelligent DSP. I use multiple subwoofers with my LS50s, and a parametric equalizer is important to achieve a flat bass response. Not only is the system smart and intelligent, it is highly functional and with removing all of the components in my space, I have reduced the amount of reflection points with no gear rack in the room and also with no computer or other components I have reduced the ambient noise in the room.

To me, this is the future of high fidelity. Some enjoy having the flexibility of a component system and want to swap things in and out, or go full old school and even use a record player. While that is certainly an appealing option, to me the ultimate use of the LS50 Wireless is through the use of Roon, an intelligent media player, with the beautiful flexibility of the Roon app, its excellent metadata and no requirement for an endpoint to connect to the LS50s. Yes, Roon is not cheap, but at $120/year that works out to $10/month, a worthy expense.

In short, should you choose the LS50 Wireless, I would highly suggest using Roon with them. However, even if you do not pursue that option, it is flexible enough to be used in a variety of other ways. It is an excellent product, with only a few small flaws on the software side. Highly recommended. (Posted on 2/27/2018)
Best sound stage yet Review by Poki
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The LS50's deserve their many excellent reviews. I can say that I agree with every credit and plaudit
they have earned. I am very pleased with the digital to analog conversion results on my first week's
music streaming. I had been researching high end DAC equipment, but have put that acquisition on hold
pending auditing all available high end streaming sources. In my current setup, with the speakers 9 ft.
apart, when I walk toward and between them I can't tell very well where the sound is coming from; the
speakers have seemingly disappeared. This is the sound stage I have been looking for. Good work KEF! (Posted on 1/19/2018)
Awesome Review by Peter
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Fantastic quality of sound and construction. A great pleasure to listen, and a great pleasure to deal with the people at KEF. Overall a five star rating. Thank you, KEF (Posted on 1/11/2018)
Great sound and build quality! Review by RockyR
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The ls50 speakers sounded great and was very pleased with them, however i wanted to try the powered ls50w speakers due to the reviews. I was not disappointed. There was a noticeable improvement in sound quality. I had a high end audio amp and pre-amp but the integrated ls50w system was a noticeable improvement. I would highly recommend them! (Posted on 1/3/2018)
Great little speaker Review by alepar
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Just to reiterate - exceptional SQ, lousy app.

Also I didn't realize streaming over wifi is only supported from ios/android, and there's no desktop driver for either macos or windows available. Not-so-wireless indeed.

Also, I've hooked up rythmik sub to these, and after a little playing with the settings, was able to achieve decent integration, even though 'advanced' mode settings were far from my ideal (probably aimed at HT applications?).

Would've been all-5-star if not for the app... (Posted on 1/3/2018)
Awesome sounding, flexible speakers. Review by Davezp25
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
Wish I would have purchased these sooner. They have great flexibility and fantastic sound. Punchy bass, smooth midrange, detailed, but smooth highs. Great speaker to use with Roon. Wish list for version Il, full Roon Ready support, mqa and dsd. Would be nice to be able to switch network ssid’s Without a reset and have the ability to swap left and right speakers in app. (Posted on 12/24/2017)
Big things come in small packages Review by AK
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
The LS50W replaced a traditional speaker/receiver system and there was no loss of sound. In fact, these KEFs sound better and take up a fraction o f the space. They are elegant to look at and produce great sound, even at low volume. I received my order the next day with free shipping! Helpful customer support (you may need to update the firmware). Expensive and a good value. (Posted on 12/22/2017)
Terrific speaker with more with versatility than anything I have ever experienced in this domain Review by JMK
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
I struggled a bit choosing these speakers because I have the wireless Dynaudio Tower speakers in my living room and they are terrific. I thought of networking them with Dynaudio bookshelf model in my upstairs office since I was very satisfied with their performance. However the KEF LS50W adds so much more value in that the connectivity, the onboard USB DAC, bluetooth and its subwoofer out made the decision easier to choose the KEF. Musically I think they are better by a bit in that they seem to have better higher end detail, a bit more spaciousness in the sound stage and are more forgiving of source material than the Dynaudio.

I highly recommend this speaker system as both a great value and a great performer! (Posted on 12/15/2017)
Superb Sound in a small package! Review by Tom
Build Quality
Sound Quality
Would you recommend?
I cannot believe the full, clear sound these produce! I have my Marantz CD player hooked up to the analog inputs on the KEF right speaker, and also listen to Tidal through the wifi application. My speakers are set up on heavy sound anchor 24" stands that improve the sound over flimsier stands. The wireless app could be improved (it sometimes does not allow seamless playback on Tidal) and it would be nice to see the display (which is on top of the right speaker) while sitting down, but the incredible sound more than makes up for these shortcomings. Usually small speakers sound anemic and not "fleshed out". These have the ability to produce tones accurately, with good dynamics and clarity, and bass response into the 40hz range. A winner! (Posted on 12/15/2017)

Reviews

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: LS50W Powered Music System

How do you rate this product? *

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive news, updates, free stuff and new releases by email.